Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Merging with TFS

We celebrated "TFS Sucks" day at my office last Friday, so this blog post is a little late.

I don't understand this behavior. I'm merging one branch back to another by selected changeset (so I that I can go through what's changed before I merge). I tell it to do the merge and it comes back with the "Resolve Conflicts" dialog. There was one file in the changeset, so I see one file.

According to the dialog: "Conflicting changes have been detected. To resolve conflicts, select items and click Resolve."

When I right click on it and Compare -> Source to Target... I don't see changes on both sides, I only see the changes I knew I was bringing in.

When I right click on it and Compare -> Source to Base... I see exactly the same changes.

When I right click on it and Compare -> Target to Base... my tool tells me there are no changes.

So, this means there are no changes in my "Target." If that's the case, what "Conflicting changes" have been detected? There is no conflict! Of course, when I tell it Auto Merge All, it succeeds, but why did I have to go through this step at all?

I'm using SourceGear's DiffMerge as my merge tool, maybe that has something to do with it?

3 comments:

  1. Mercurial FTW! Happy TFS Sucks Day!

    ReplyDelete
  2. TFS is utterly terrible and isn't any better in 2016. There are too many disparate systems involved, project creation failures, missing files, files that don't get updated during check-in, compatibility issues between one VS version and another TFS version. Total piece of junk and about worthless. Honestly, I don't trust it at all anymore and have gone to keeping backups of my projects locally.

    ReplyDelete
  3. TFS is utterly terrible and isn't any better in 2016. There are too many disparate systems involved, project creation failures, missing files, files that don't get updated during check-in, compatibility issues between one VS version and another TFS version. Total piece of junk and about worthless. Honestly, I don't trust it at all anymore and have gone to keeping backups of my projects locally.

    ReplyDelete